Chai Steel Cut No-Cook Oatmeal

ChaiSteelCutOats_

 

I took time out of my (incrediblybusyandimportant) Sunday morning to share this amazing recipe really because I want you all to be jealous that I’m sitting here eating this delicious concoction and you’re not.  And sadly that’s the immature truth.  Sometimes I just want others to be jealous of the things I’m eating as living, breathing proof that I’m a better recipe finder/menu orderer/fruit picker than you are.  Once, Laura and I were eating avocados and hers was iffy – mine of course, was fantastic – she was too nice to take half of mine but I kept insisting she at least try it, “just TRY it.”  I remember her looking at me in frustration and finally saying “why, so you can show me how much better yours is than mine?!” Yesssssss?  What?

The real reason I’m sharing this recipe this morning is that it takes a few hours (overnight, preferably) to brew and wanted to make sure you had it in time for Monday morning.  This recipe for chai oatmeal is one of those things that once you have it, you’ll truly wonder how you lived so long without it.  I used coconut milk purely because I’m obsessed with all things coconut, but I’m sure it could be adapted to the dairy (or non-dairy if you’re into the soy/almond/hemp milk extravaganza).  You’ll note the portion sizes as very casual as this thing is easy peasy and could be quickly adjusted to feed more than one.

Chai Steel Cut Oatmeal 

  • Combine equal parts of steel cut oats, coconut milk and plain Greek yogurt in a container with an airtight lid
  • Add about 1/4 teaspoon per serving of the following spices (if you’re as unlucky as I and unable to find a pre-mixed chai spice packet)
    • Vanilla extract
    • Ground ginger
    • Ground cinnamon
    • Ground cardamom
  • Add a pinch of nutmeg and black pepper
  • Add two tablespoons of chia seeds (read deliciouslyorganic extoll the health benefits of these tiny, gelatinous beauties)

Refrigerate the mixture overnight and voila!  Now just to prepare you, if you heard steel-cut oats and your mouth started watering thinking about the Jamba Juice very berry steel cut oats and their delicious, warm, ooey gooey texture, go somewhere else.  These oats don’t taste cooked, and since you refrigerated the mess, it’s obviously going to be cold.  But it’s insanely delicious and more than worth the expectation adjustment – trust a sister!

ChaiSteelCutOats_2

a-sig11

3 thoughts on “Chai Steel Cut No-Cook Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: My New “Super” Morning Oatmeal | A HEALTHY LIFE FOR ME

Leave a comment