Black Rock Coasters

 

Rock Coaster_2

The other day I went for a walk along the river.  It’s always nice to get outside and breathe the fresh air, especially when it’s mid-November in the Midwest, but the lack of rain this year meant the nearby river was particularly low.  I’ve been called a hoarder before, so I didn’t think anything of it when I picked up a few of the many smooth black stones that must have been unceremoniously dumped on the side of the water. 

Back at the old workshop (ahem, apartment) I rinsed them clean and tried to figure out what to do with my new handful of…well, rocks.  They happened to be exceptionally flat on the bottom – not a wobble found – so I shellacked them with a few coats of glossy varnish and put them to the test as condensation catchers. There’s nothing like a functional memory!

Rock Coaster_1

Rock Coaster_3

a-sig11

6 thoughts on “Black Rock Coasters

    • Hey, I would never deny a girl a set of these bad boys! Send it our way and while I can’t promise when I’ll go back to collect the next set, I can promise you’ll be the first recipient 🙂

Leave a Reply

