Marilyn Monday

From immortalmarilyn.com

It started at lunch today; I work across the street from the 26′ recreation of Marilyn Monroe’s famous ‘Seven Year Itch’ and have the distinct pleasure of watching tourists look up her skirt and take pictures while I’m out grabbing soup on my lunch break.

From ibtimes.com

Shortly after lunch, one of my coworkers mentioned that she saw ‘My Week with Marilyn’ over the weekend and after a particularly long day at work, I finally curled up tonight with some Annie’s Cheddar Bunnies Mac & Cheese and NBC’s new SMASH.

I feel like Marilyn fever is everywhere lately, and in all honesty I’ve never taken the time to understand the fascination. To play catch up, I read a few bios and interviews (I particularly liked this Vanity Fair article) and browsed through some photos and I have to admit… my curiosity is peaked. Maybe its watching her movies reeneacted in SMASH, but I’m thinking a Marilyn-Movie-Marathon this weekend might be the way to go.

I loved this set of photos that I came across by Ed Feingersh in 1955 for Redbook Magazine and thought I’d share. She looks stunning, of course, but these look like candid little instants in her real life… until I stopped to think that Marilyn Monroe could never, ever ride the subway in NYC in 1955. The master of illusion.

from immortalmarilyn.com

from immortalmarilyn.com

And finally, the perfect quote to end a Monday –

“Ever notice how ‘What the hell’ is always the right answer?”

-Marilyn Monroe

Leave a Reply

