Homemade Veggie Burgers

open

There is a restaurant in Chicago that has an amazing homemade veggie burger.  Seriously, it’s flavorful and hearty, and though a bit messy, it’s worth every napkin.  Today I wanted to recreate the burger and every ounce of it’s deliciousness.  I googled for recipes that contained mushrooms and quinoa, both I’m convinced I tasted in the original version.  I found what looked to be a perfectly matching recipe from Martha Stewart’s Test Kitchen website.  Following the recipe nearly to a T, I did add a few handfuls of crushed chickpeas for additional nutrients and density.  Once the patty was pan-seared to the perfect soft, golden crust, I sandwiched the burger between a honey wheat sandwich thin bun and added lettuce and onion.  Not pictured: the giant dollop of mayo that completed the combo. Smile

IMG_1173

IMG_1195

IMG_1175

IMG_1179

I love tomatoes on the vine – their spiny leaves look almost prehistoric!

IMG_1184

IMG_1186

IMG_1192

a-sig11

Leave a Reply

