Easy, please!

queso

Some nights just need to be productive.  And before you say anything, ignore the blurry photo.  Tonight was my first re-entry at the gym in over a week, and in an attempt to make up for the sins of the past week, I seem to have ruined my arm muscles.  Weak arms mean shaky arms, and shaky arms do not take pictures that do my delicious and healthy quesadillas justice.

Make this incredibly easy weeknight dinner for one with just a tortilla, some reduced-fat cream cheese (flavored!) and some shaved turkey.  I use my misto (thanks Mom and Big!) to lube a regular sized frying pan that will warm and crisp the tortilla with a spritz of olive oil.  Spread a thin layer of cream cheese (again, seriously – flavored: garden veggie, onion and chive, jalapeno…trust me) on the tortilla and heap with turkey.  Cook over a low to medium-low flame until the tortilla crisps on the outside and the innards turn warm and delicious.  Did I ruin it by using the word innards?  Too much?

Anyway.  I highly recommend serving with a healthy dollop of salsa.  I prefer Garden-Fresh, Jack’s Special medium salsa; I don’t know what they put in it, but seriously, it’s crave-able beyond what’s usually normal for a thing like salsa.  

Other tried and true (but slightly more effort-intensive) innards combos?

  • Home-made-refried-without-the-fried black beans and grilled peppers (now you want the recipe, hmm?  Needy).
  • A spread of light cream cheese, a bit of goat cheese and pesto topped with thinly sliced apples.  I swear, it will convert even those people who squirm at the sweet and savory combo.
  • Light, veggie cream cheese with sautéed portabella mushrooms and fresh spinach.

A sig

Leave a comment