Before & After

tablepic

A few weeks back I had the idea to make a bar cart, or bar table, or liquor cart – I couldn’t really settle on an appropriate name.  The fact that I don’t own a single liquor bottle aside, I had my mind made up.  Laura and I trekked to the local Brown Elephant to see what was available.  After practically stalking a man for a red-metallic martini shaker and budging a woman for a set of wooden badminton rackets we found the perfect supplies.  We snatched up a  vintage, ornamental serving tray and tapered but metallic table legs for the components.  The table legs were rumored to have a turquoise table top as their final complement, but a bit of innocent eyelash batting and shoulder shrugging gave us enough advantage to avoid that purchase.  All told?  $23.00

Now before you say that the original design and coloring of the tray was unique and pretty and should have been showcased, I thought so too.  However, it did seem to smudge when I tried to clean it.  Yes, yes, it’s possible that the ornamental design wasn’t intended to withstand Windex, but still.  I can’t have a streaky, dirty tray.  Laura and I debated on paint colors and after purchasing more gold paint than one person will likely ever use, I decided it had to be a glossy white.  Anyone in the market for gold paint?

The cart pieces made truly horrible (and awkwardly painful at certain points) companions on busses, trains and a long, chilly walk home but we eventually made it back to my humble abode where they, some glue and an absolute cloud of paint fumes became my new bar cart.  Well, just to clarify: considering I’m not really a hard alcohol drinker (last weekend aside…ahem) it will likely become an empty wine bottle cart.  Who are we kidding, wine doesn’t really stand a chance in this apartment!  At least now my empties will have a lovely, glossy display.

A sig

One thought on “Before & After

  1. Pingback: Sneak Peak! | deux chicago

Leave a Reply

