Jump

Its easy to lose perspective in our hectic lives. I know I’m lucky in so many respects and incredibly grateful for the blessings I have in my life. But – an overwhelming day can send me running into the nearest pity party for one, complete with tiny violins.

Ali and I took advantage of a Groupon to trapeze this summer with friends and for me it came at a particularly crazy time when a lot was changing. I remember climbing the ladder and wondering why, on earth, I had wanted to do this!

And stepping off that platform… that was the worst part. I’d hover there way longer than my time probably allotted – I’m pretty sure the only reason I ever ended up jumping was out of guilt for the people waiting to go below me and also because climbing back down the ladder seemed equally scary.

But then…

I’d be flying.

Talk about perspective.

Sometimes, you just have to let go and jump into it, whatever it is. Going backwards or doing nothing is just as scary and once you take that little hop or step or jump, you’re weightless and your own momentum carries you farther than you ever thought it could.

Now Ali – she was the pro. She let GO of the bar and got caught by the real trapeze artist. There’s a blog about trust in there somewhere, huh? 🙂

 

One thought on “Jump

  1. Pingback: Life Lately | deux chicago

Leave a Reply

