Warning–H.O.T. (no, not the name of the new weezy song)

Today I had some time on my hands after being incredibly over-served on Friday night.  I had the mental capacity of luggage today.  Samsonite.  So obviously I spent the day wasting time on useless websites (I’m talking to you, passiveagressivenotes.com) and thinking about food.  It seems I couldn’t pass through a cooking blog without reading a recipe for adobo-chipotle-marinade-from-peppers-in-a-can-burn-your-lips chicken.  After the 14th recipe called for the addition of honey, I was sold.  (I’ve been meaning to pick up honey to sooth my overly dry face.  I made a brown sugar, pumpkin and honey face mask and had it on my face for snacking…err….moisturizing while I grilled the chicken).  

In retrospect, I should have listened to my gut and known the marinade was too spicy.  I like to THINK I like a ton of heat, but really I don’t.  It burns my lips.  So while the marinade added a ton of flavor to the meaty chicken, it could have been a bit more balanced.  The honey and garlic added delicious flavor – maybe it would have been better to roast the garlic first?  Next time. 

Here’s a picture of my cooking wine.  I call it cooking wine because you drink it while cooking.  Duh.  Come on – explaining everything is exhausting.  Wine consumed while cooking doesn’t count.  I left it in the freezer for too long and was trying to capture the tiny snowflake like icicles that developed.

IMG_0896

Here’s a picture of the marinade splat on my cooktop that came from a meaty drumstick sliding off during the Transfer Process.  Transfer Process:  the shifting of drumsticks from the marinating dish to the hot grill pan.  The Transfer Process involves scooping a single drumstick onto the one remaining clean fork and trusting it’s slippery self to balance on the 1.5 foot trip from dish to pan.  I chose not to use a reinforcement for drumstick balance because it meant dirtying another utensil and it was slim pickings.  I also chose not to stab the chicken to secure it so that I wouldn’t pierce the meat and loose essential juice.  It’s really almost hard to believe the Transfer Process wasn’t flawless.   

IMG_0917

Anyway, the chicken burns my tongue but it’s good.  Delicious, really.  It helps that I grated lime zest and chopped cilantro into sour cream and used a hand blender to whip it together.  It created an amazing mouth cooler that tasted like it required entirely more effort than it did.

Leave a Reply

