Eggplant napolean with balsamic onion

So I’ve decided that low-carb is the way to go.  The sour patch kids I ate in the car didn’t count – it was an interstate road and everyone knows that candy consumed on a highway doesn’t count as diet .  The BLT I ate this morning on the other hand…

Either way – low to no carb is the way of my future.  Still I doubt I’ll have enough control to do it in a completely healthy manner.  This evening the goal was to replicate the homey warmth of lasagna without the pasta using fresh veggies.  I picked up an eggplant, a zucchini, some fresh tomatoes, a few onions and some fresh cheese.

Sliced thin, I tossed the veggies in olive oil and roasted them in the oven for about 20 minutes.  I made a light, flavorful tomato sauce for a base and slow cooked a red onion with balsamic vinegar for an added layer of flavor.  Spread the tomato sauce and slow cooked balsamic onions on a plate and layer the roasted eggplant and zucchini with fresh mozzarella slices and add fresh basil to taste.  If you’re as cheese obsessed as I am, add a parmesan frico as an added cheesy bonus and enjoy!

 
 
Leave a Reply

