Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Try to think of a vegetable I wouldn’t like.

Do it!

You can’t. Sorry.

Our mom tells a story of when Ali and I were little at the grocery store and begging – literally begging – for broccoli. A kindly and apparently nosy older lady gasped when she heard us and congratulated my mother on her fantastic parenting. I’m guessing she wasn’t clued in to the cheese content of my bowl of broccoli those days, but whatever works, right?

Right. In smothering our veggies with cheddar and employing an enviable willpower in refusing to give up/turn a blind eye when the “dog wanted it!”, our love of vegetables lives on to this day.

PA050197

Especially me and especially brussels sprouts. I grabbed a bag of them at my beloved Trader Joe’s on my way home from work with every intention to save half of them for tomorrow’s lunch. That didn’t exactly pan out, but preparing them a new way did… so here’s my recipe. 🙂

Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Serves ?*

  • 1 lb brussels sprouts
  • 4 Tb extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 Tb balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

PA050195    PA050193

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Cut the bottoms off of each sprout and then cut in half, length-wise.
  3. Whisk together olive oil, balsamic, salt and pepper.
  4. Toss brussels sprouts in olive oil and balsamic mixture.
  5. Spread brussels sprouts evenly in shallow pan and roast for 20 minutes; flipping halfway through.

Feast!

PA050184

This picture says a lot about me. Please note portion size of chicken as compared to my mountain of sprouts. For the record, those are not small chicken tenders. And yes, that is ice in my wine.

*I realize that if I’m going to be posting recipes, I should really have some semblance of an idea of portion size… but I literally just ate 16 oz. of brussels sprouts with my dinner. (16 oz. sounds nicer than “a pound”). Clearly, I’m not your girl if you’re hoping for an understanding of a normal portion size in the vegetable department.

One thought on “Roasted Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

