Pasta with Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese

When a friend at work told me about this recipe, I was sold. I love goat cheese, butternut squash, Giada’s crazy smile and was in the mood for pasta. I actually had most of the ingredients on hand, except for the goat cheese so a quick stop at Trader Joe’s and I was ready to try something new.

While at TJ’s, I picked up this wine – not bad for a super inexpensive bottle. (Totally wooed by the label.) I seriously cannot leave that place without grabbing ONE new thing to try! Similar impulse buys have sparked my love of chili-spiced dried mango and wasabi seaweed snacks.

P9260088

As usual, I went by my own loose interpretation of the recipe. I omitted the walnuts, swapped the fresh basil in favor of dried and adding in a few handfuls of spinach. Also, a nearly criminal offense… I only used 6 oz. of goat cheese instead of the 8 oz. that the recipe calls for. Trust me, NOT on purpose, but I wasn’t about to run back out to TJ’s that far into the process and it was plenty cheesy. I [over]compensated with the parmesan blend topper.

P9260084 P9260082

The result of my efforts? Comfort food with a fall twist!

 

Leave a Reply

