BBQ Pulled Pork

We spent a great, relaxing weekend at home over Labor Day where I know at least I ate my body weight in home-cooked meals and goodies I don’t keep at my place. We were blessed with both our good looks and love of salty, crunchy snack foods from our mama. You win some, you lose some.

I always leave to head back to the city with a goody bag packed with seriously weird odds and ends. This trip’s goody bag included a Costco-sized jar of mixed nuts, Crest White Strips and a huge hunk of roast pork. I love my family.

By a long shot, one of the least random bags I’ve taken, by the way.

The time the bag ripped open from the condensation coming off of the frozen melting pot roast and said pot roast plunked out into a huge icy chunk in the middle of the train aisle wasn’t awkward at all.

At my mom’s suggestion, I decided to make BBQ pulled pork so I could keep the leftovers around this week before our trip.

Mom: “Do you have barbeque sauce?”
Me: “Yep!”

Nope. So I made my own. It turned out seriously (and surprisingly!) awesome, so here’s how I did it after reading a few recipes online and using what I had on hand.

bbq-pulled-pork

L’s Chipotle-Honey BBQ Sauce

2 cups tomato sauce
1/3 cup ketchup
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/2 tbsp garlic
1 tbsp dried mustard
1/2 tsp chipotle pepper
1/2 tsp salt

Mix all of the ingredients in a sauce pan and let simmer, covered, for 20 minutes. Stir occasionally.

This made a lot of sauce. Probably a good 3 cups. I “pulled” the pork hunk using two forks and let it simmer in the sauce for a bit and then made a giant sandwich on a whole wheat roll from the market’s bakery.

Et voila!

Pardon my French. I’m a little excited about our upcoming New Orleans trip. Lots of fun, time with girlfriends… and of course, more great food. We’ll pack a bag for our mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

