Blowtique

I have super-fine, fairly uninteresting hair.

I’ve never gotten a blowout before yesterday because frankly, I didn’t see the point. My hair is already incredibly straight, and whenever I’ve asked for more volume when getting my hair dried after highlights and a cut, I absolutely hate the result – it always looks cheesy and fluffy.

But when I heard about Blowtique opening in River North, I had to give it a try.

I had dinner plans at Sunda with JB last night and since I already had a dress, I thought not spending money on a new dress would be a good excuse to you know, spend money differently.

The experience was nice – the girl that did my hair was super sweet, the place was really cute, and I was in and our in 35 minutes flat for $40 including tip.

Here’s my result: my hair in the morning and post-blowout… I wasn’t blown away (excuse pun) but I thought it had a little more movement and wave than usual.

*please excuse incredibly awkward self-pics… how do you guys do it?!

What do you think? Worth it? Do blowouts just have a better result on thicker, longer hair or do I just need to keep trying until I find a blowout that works for me?