Honey Chipotle BBQ Chicken Tacos

 

BBQ chicken tacos_1

Has anyone ever heard of Ms. P’s Electric Cock?  Hysterical and controversial name aside, I watched her cook the most delicious looking fried chicken on the Cooking Channel the other day, and have been craving chicken since.  Since I don’t think my frying skills could quite match hers, and since I hadn’t perfected her “fry that chicken!” chant, I decided to go the bbq route.  Barbeque is such a quintessential summer flavor and these tacos – with a bit of spicy chipotle heat, the creaminess of the avocado and the bite of the lime – could be the quintessential way to enjoy the classic sauce.

Honey Chipotle Barbeque Sauce

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chipotle chiles in adobo
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (to taste)
  • 1 pinch ground pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  This sauce requires no cooking – just refrigerate until ready to use!

I used a slow cooker to slowly stew a few boneless skinless chicken thighs and breasts in the sauce and shredded the cooled chicken.  I mixed a light coleslaw of chopped cabbage and poppyseed salad dressing and chopped a bit of lime and avocado.  I toasted corn tortillas in a lightly oiled pan for a few minutes until they were warm, chewy and absolutely delicious.  My only regret was a slight grocery shopping mishap that haunted me every bite – no cilantro for topping!

BBQ chicken tacos_2

BBQ chicken tacos_3

a-sig11