Holy Guacamole

It’s quite possible that I do not love any food more than guacamole. This weekend I made a HUGE batch for a friend’s barbeque and it was a big hit, so I thought I’d share.

I take a strong stance on the ingredients. Tomato, corn and beans – I love you, but stay away. You have no place in my beloved guac. Tomatoes make it watery, chunky corn and beans are distracting. Channel Chipotle and keep it simple.

And I’ll also disclose my secret ingredient: chili garlic sauce. I know I’ve talked about this at some other point on the blog, but I am obsessed with this stuff. I put it on everything: scrambled eggs, pizza, chicken, etc etc. Its pretty much a chunky version of sriracha and its like $2 in the ethnic section of your grocery store. (Can I just say how much I hate that grocery stores label one aisle the “ethnic” aisle?)

Aaand bringing it back to my holy guacamole – the chili garlic sauce accomplishes three things. 1. It adds garlic flavor while guaranteeing no one gets a big garlic chunk on their tortilla chip… this is key! 2. Its the perfect level of smoky spiciness and 3. The red flecks look pretty.

Here’s how its done, keeping in mind that pretty much every ingredient in the list could come with the little disclaimer “(or to taste)” after it. Also, this makes a party-sized batch, so keep that in mind too.

 

Holy Guacamole

  • 8 small avocados (or 6 regular-sized)
  • 1 cup finely diced onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 heaping Tb chili garlic sauce, or to taste
  • 1 Tb lime juice

1. Squish the avocados

2. Add everything else

3. Mix

4. Eat

Fun fact! If you’re transporting the guacamole somewhere instead of eating it immediately, save the pits and add them back in at the end. Then cover the whole batch – pits and all! – with plastic wrap pressed into the guacamole. This will keep the guacamole from turning that horrifying, discolored shade of brown that quickly takes your guacamole from the awesome highlight of the party to a scary bowl of brown, oxidized, hopefully-avocado.